Schéma et données structurées

Tu n'aimes pas quand le menu est accompagné de photos de nourriture ? Tu veux tout manger ! Les clients prennent des décisions en fonction de ce qui attire leur attention le plus rapidement, et nous aussi lorsque nous cherchons quelque chose sur Google. Une fois que nous voyons un résultat de recherche complet, nous ressentons le besoin de cliquer dessus, n'est-ce pas ?
Données structurées par schéma

C'est de cela qu'il s'agit : présenter l'information d'une manière plus structurée et visuelle pour que vous sachiez à quoi vous attendre d'un clic... et que vous ayez vraiment envie de cliquer dessus. Le schéma d'implémentation fournit des informations supplémentaires aux visiteurs et, par conséquent, augmente le nombre de visites. La situation gagnant-gagnant parfaite !

 

Qu'est-ce qu'un schéma

Schema.org est un vocabulaire de balises (aussi connu sous le nom de balises) que les webmasters peuvent ajouter au HTML pour rendre une page plus attractive dans les SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages). En ajoutant ces balises, nous obtenons ce qu'on appelle des Données Structurées, et cela donne des Rich Snippets. En voici quelques exemples :

En comprenant qu'un extrait est une page de résultats commune avec un titre, une URL et une méta description, vous pouvez voir que l'exemple d'extrait riche ci-dessus montre plus de détails que d'habitude. Cette fonctionnalité vous offre des possibilités infinies en fonction de la page que vous souhaitez promouvoir. Nous vous montrerons quelques exemples plus tard.

Alors, quel est ce code, communément appelé"schema markup" ? L'initiative provient d'une communauté collaborative appelée schema.org qui compile toutes les balises qui aident les spécialistes du marketing à créer et promouvoir des schémas de données structurées sur les sites Web, les messages électroniques et plus encore.

Qu'est-ce que schema.org dans SEO

Vous vous demandez comment utiliser schema.org pour le référencement ? L'objectif de la mise en œuvre de Schema est de fournir des informations (détails du site/produit) aux moteurs de recherche afin d'améliorer leur compréhension du contenu, d'enrichir les snippets et d'augmenter le CTR.
Oui, cela peut sembler évident, mais nous voulons souligner que les extraits riches ont un impact énorme sur le CTR (Click Through Rate) parce qu'ils attirent l'attention des gens plus que tout autre résultat de recherche, et cela entraîne plus de clics. N'oubliez pas que ce paramètre détermine le succès d'un extrait, et qu'il est calculé en divisant la quantité d'informations qu'il contient par le nombre de clics. Plus il y a de clics, plus le CTR est élevé.

Dans le cas d'extraits riches, ils augmentent le CTR jusqu'à 30% ! Surtout lorsqu'il s'agit d'évaluation de produits ou de services : les évaluations et les critiques sont les éléments les plus influents sur les extraits riches. Besoin de raisons supplémentaires pour les mettre en œuvre ? En voilà une bonne :

Dans le passé, les spécialistes du référencement devaient pousser leurs développeurs à écrire les balisages puis à les télécharger, ce qui se traduisait par de longs temps d'attente et parfois des implémentations erronées, avec de nombreuses boucles de retour. Maintenant les professionnels du référencement peuvent éditer les balises de schéma en utilisant JSON-LD (un des codes acceptés par schema.org). C'est assez facile à utiliser, et tout ce que vous avez à faire - en plus d'ajouter l'information - est de l'envoyer aux développeurs, ou de l'ajouter vous-même au HTML ou à Google Tag Manager. On en reparlera plus tard.

Maintenant, est-ce que de riches bribes apparaissent immédiatement ? Malheureusement non. Il leur faut du temps pour se montrer. Oubliez l'idée d'implémenter schema.org sur une page de mauvaise qualité pour qu'il soit mieux classé. Vous devez toujours investir vos efforts de référencement dans chaque page, car Google appréciera si le texte est suffisamment pertinent, si ce qui est encadré dans les balises correspond au contenu de la page, si elle reçoit des liens de qualité ou non, etc.

Une grande utilité de schema.org est le balisage "organisation". Vous pouvez ainsi aider Google à identifier toutes les données de votre entreprise et à les afficher sur le graphique de connaissances. Vous voudrez spécifier un logo, les coordonnées, les heures d'ouverture (s'il s'agit d'une entreprise physique) et un lien vers vos canaux de médias sociaux. En voici un exemple :

Vous pouvez également ajouter le balisage du site web schema.org pour aider Google à générer des liens de site avec un champ de recherche, et même faire apparaître la chapelure sous le titre de l'extrait. Les possibilités sont infinies !

Comment implémenter schema.org

Pour ajouter des balises de schéma à vos pages, suivez ces étapes :

  • Vous voulez visiter schema.org, où vous trouverez un répertoire avec toutes sortes de pages, de besoins, d'industries, etc.
  • Choisissez l'industrie ou le produit qui définit le mieux la ou les pages que vous voulez promouvoir sur les RSR. Il y a beaucoup d'informations que vous pouvez mettre en évidence, prenez votre temps pour choisir les bonnes données. N'oubliez pas qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de tout inclure.
  • Choisissez l'encodage qui convient à vos possibilités et l'adapte au contenu de votre page. Vous le trouverez au bas de la page, copiez l'exemple pour commencer à travailler dessus.
  • Ajoutez les balises à votre page selon le code que vous avez utilisé (voir la section suivante).
  • Valider le code avec un outil de test de données structuré comme FandangoSEO.
  • Et ta-da ! Vos pages seront plus attrayantes que jamais.

Le balisage du schéma peut être utilisé avec 3 encodages différents : RDFa, Microdata et JSON-LD (vous l'aimerez probablement le plus).

 

Microdonnées et RDFa

MicroData et RDFa sont des formes de balisage sémantique qui peuvent être combinées avec des propriétés HTML typiques pour définir chaque type d'élément (revue, taux, prix, etc.) à l'aide d'attributs associés.

Il encadre fondamentalement les mots que vous voulez surligner en utilisant ce code à l'intérieur du corps du fichier HTML. De cette façon, vous dites aux moteurs de recherche que ce mot doit être considéré par eux comme -par exemple- le nom du produit, ou la description.

Pour les microdonnées, vous commencerez par :


<div itemscope itemtype="http://schema.org/Movie">

And then move on with the different tags:

<h1 itemprop="name">Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)</h1>

Pour la RDFa, vous commencerez par :


<div vocab="http://schema.org/" typeof="Movie">

And so on…

<h1 property="name">Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)</h1>

Taking “product” as an example, with Microdata you’ll want to use these tags:

<itemprop=”name“>

<itemprop=”description”>

<itemprop=”price“>

<itemprop=”aggregateRating“> à The overall rating, based on a collection of reviews or ratings of the item. This is a key influential element, together with the next two:

<itemprop=”ratingValue“> à The rating for the content

<itemprop=”reviewCount“> àThe total number of reviews

<itemprop=“image” > à URL of the item’s image (not the thumbnail, and only one per product)

<itemprop="color">

<itemprop="brand">

etc.

La mauvaise nouvelle, c'est que vous devrez appliquer ce langage manuellement au HTML de chacune des pages que vous voulez mettre en valeur, alors commencez par les produits les plus vendus pour augmenter les ventes ou les meilleurs billets de blogue pour augmenter les visites.

 

Conseils pour des données structurées sur le commerce électronique

  • Pour les catégories (qui affichent une liste de produits), vous pouvez mettre en surbrillance 1 vignette comme "image", une "fourchette de prix" qui regroupe tous les produits affichés, et le "paiement accepté".
  • Lorsque vous souhaitez mettre en surbrillance plus d'un élément sur une page de catégorie ou de sous-catégorie, vous pouvez les lister en attribuant des numéros avec ITEMREF.
  • Utilisez "isRelatedTo" pour indiquer les produits connexes.
  • N'oubliez pas les critiques et les évaluations. Le prix aide aussi, s'il est compétitif.

 

JSON-LD

Comme nous l'avons déjà mentionné, JSON-LD est le plus utilisé par les experts SEO, car c'est le balisage de schéma le plus facile pour les données structurées. Pourquoi ? Eh bien, alors que les autres doivent être écrits dans le fichier HTML encadrant les mots, celui-ci peut être écrit et téléchargé séparément et Google comprendra que le code fait référence à la page entière. De cette façon, vous évitez d'éditer les balises HTML et de potentiellement tout gâcher.

You will add the code to the HTML as another tag, but there’s no need to touch the existing code. Told you it was easier. 😉 Google recommends adding JSON-LD to the <head> section of the HTML document; but it’s okay if the JSON-LD is within the <body> section. Just paste it (or ask a developer if you have the chance).

Dans ce cas, le code ressemblera à ceci :


<script type="application/ld+json">

{

"@context": "http://schema.org",

"@type": "Movie",

"actor": [

{

"@type": "Person",

"name": "Johnny Depp"

},

Cela vaut pour les trois types d'encodage : choisissez le code exemple sur le site web schema.org et remplacez le texte exemple par vos propres données. De cette façon, la validation se fera en douceur. Rappelez-vous que FandangoSEO fonctionne également comme un validateur de schéma JSON-LD, et bien sûr il est grand pour RDFa et Microdata aussi.

 

Exemples de Schema.org

Vous avez vu que les données structurées ont beaucoup de potentiel. En fonction de votre activité, les données structurées sont la meilleure solution pour battre vos concurrents sur les moteurs de recherche. Ça a l'air cool, non ?

Examinons quelques exemples de données structurées de Google :

  • Vous tenez un blogue sur la cuisine, et votre recette contient moins de calories et prend moins de temps à préparer que celle de votre principal concurrent.

Pour voir à quoi devrait ressembler le schéma, vous pouvez même ajouter le balisage du schéma vidéo et le lien vers le tutoriel vidéo.

  • Vous dirigez un commerce électronique et vous voulez que vos chaussures les plus vendues se démarquent sur les SERPs. Ajoutez les détails du produit mais aussi la note moyenne basée sur plusieurs notes ou critiques.
  • Vous êtes un auteur de livre et vous venez d'écrire un guide épique sur la façon d'être un leader impressionnant. Il y en a beaucoup, mais le vôtre est le meilleur. Utilisez schema.org pour les livres qui deviendront l'auteur du best-seller de Noël prochain.
  • Vous avez une application pour suivre les vols et vous voulez qu'elle soit trouvée lorsque les gens cherchent les heures d'arrivée et les terminaux d'aéroport ; vous pouvez alors utiliser le balisage de l'application du logiciel de schéma.

 

En résumé, nous voulons que vous soyez conscient de l'importance des données structurées sur le référencement et que vous sachiez combien de possibilités schema.org vous offre pour créer des snippets riches. Rappelez-vous ces deux conseils cruciaux :

  • Choisissez ce que vous voulez afficher judicieusement, afin de n'afficher que les informations les plus utiles dans les résultats des moteurs de recherche.
  • Valider avant de publier. Vous ne voulez pas que tous vos efforts soient perdus, alors allez visiter notre testeur de schéma et restez en sécurité sur 😉

 

Prêt à se démarquer sur les RSR ?

Vérifier le schéma maintenant

Arrow-up

Schema & structured data

Don’t you love it when the menu comes with pictures of food? You want to eat it all! Customers make decisions based on what catches their eye fastest, and so do we when we Google anything. Once we see a complete search result we feel the need to click on it, don’t we?

This is what Schema is about: presenting the information in a more structured and visual way so you know what to expect upon a click… and really want to click on it. Implementing schema provides extra information to visitors and consequently drives more visits. The perfect win-win situation!

 

What is schema

Schema.org is a vocabulary of tags (also known as markups) that webmasters can add to the HTML to make a page look more attractive in the SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages). By adding these tags, we obtain what’s called Structured Data, and that results in Rich Snippets. Here are a couple of examples:

By understanding that a snippet is a common results page with a title, URL and meta description, you can see that the rich snippet example above shows more details than usual. This functionality gives you infinite possibilities depending on the page you want to promote. We’ll show you some examples later.

So, what is this code, commonly known as schema markup? The initiative comes from a collaborative community called schema.org which compiles all the tags that help marketers create and promote schemas for structured data on websites, email messages and more.

What is schema.org in SEO

Wondering how to use schema.org for SEO? The aim of implementing Schema is to provide information (details of the site/product) to search engines to improve their understanding of the content, to make the snippets richer and to increase the CTR.
Yes, that may sound obvious but we want to stress that rich snippets have a huge impact on the CTR (Click Through Rate) because they catch people’s attention more than any other search result, and that drives more clicks. Remember that this parameter determines a snippet’s success, and it’s calculated by dividing how much it appeared on the SERPs by the number of times it was clicked. The more clicks, the higher the CTR.

In the case of rich snippets, they increase the CTR up to 30%! Especially when it comes to products or service assessment: ratings and reviews are the most influential elements on rich snippets. Need more reasons to implement them? Here comes a good one:

In the past, SEO specialists had to push their developers to write the markups and then upload them, which turned into long waiting time and sometimes wrong implementations, with many feedback loops. Now SEO professionals can edit schema tags using JSON-LD (one of the codes accepted by schema.org). It’s pretty easy to use, and all you need to do –besides adding the information- is to send it to the developers, or add it in yourself to the HTML or to Google Tag Manager. We’ll get to that later.

Now, do rich snippets appear immediately? Unfortunately not. It takes some time for them to show up. Forget the idea of implementing schema.org on a poor page to make it rank higher. You still need to invest your SEO efforts into every single page, as Google will value if the text is relevant enough, if what’s framed in the tags corresponds to the page’s content, whether it receives quality links or not, etc.

A great utility of schema.org is the “organization” markup. With that, you can help Google identify all the data of your company and display it on the Knowledge graph. You’ll want to specify a logo, contact details, opening hours (if it’s a physical business) and link to your social media channels. Here’s an example:

You can also add the website schema.org markup to help Google generate sitelinks with a search box, and even make the breadcrumbs appear under the title of the snippet. There are endless possibilities!

How to implement schema.org

In order to add schema markup to your pages, follow these steps:

  • You want to visit schema.org, where you’ll find a directory with all kinds of pages, needs, industries, etc.
  • Pick the industry or product that best defines the page/s that you want to promote on the SERPs. There’s a lot of information you can highlight, take your time to pick the right data. Remember, you don’t need to include everything.
  • Choose the encoding that suits your possibilities and adapts it to your page’s content. You’ll find it at the bottom of the page, copy the sample to start working on it.
  • Add the markups to your page depending on which code you used (see the next section).
  • Validate the code with a structured data testing tool like FandangoSEO.
  • And ta-da! Your pages will start looking more attractive than ever before.

The schema markup can be used with 3 different encodings: RDFa, Microdata, and JSON-LD (you’ll probably like this one the most).

 

Microdata and RDFa

MicroData and RDFa are forms of semantic markup that can be combined with typical HTML properties to define each item type (review, rate, price, etc.) through the use of associated attributes.

It basically frames the words you want to highlight using this code inside the body on the HTML file. This way, you tell search engines that that word has to be considered by them as –for example- the product name, or the description.

For Microdata you’ll start with:

<div itemscope itemtype=”http://schema.org/Movie”>

And then move on with the different tags:

<h1 itemprop=”name”>Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)</h1>

 

For RDFa you’ll start with:

<div vocab=”http://schema.org/” typeof=”Movie”>

And so on…

<h1 property=”name”>Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)</h1>

Taking “product” as an example, with Microdata you’ll want to use these tags:

<itemprop=”name“>

<itemprop=”description”>

<itemprop=”price“>

<itemprop=”aggregateRating“> à The overall rating, based on a collection of reviews or ratings of the item. This is a key influential element, together with the next two:

<itemprop=”ratingValue“> à The rating for the content

<itemprop=”reviewCount“> àThe total number of reviews

<itemprop=“image” > à URL of the item’s image (not the thumbnail, and only one per product)

<itemprop=”color”>

<itemprop=”brand”>

etc.

 

The bad news is that you’ll have to apply this language manually to the HTML of each of the pages you want to emphasize, so start with the best-selling products to push sales or top blog posts to increase visits.

 

Tips for structured data on e-commerce

  • For categories (that display a list of products), you can highlight 1 thumbnail as “image”, a “price range” that groups all the products displayed, and the “payment accepted”.
  • When you want to highlight more than one item on a category or subcategory page, you can list them by assigning numbers with ITEMREF.
  • Use “isRelatedTo” to point out related products.
  • Don’t forget the reviews and ratings. The price also helps, if it’s competitive.

 

JSON-LD

As we previously mentioned, JSON-LD is the most used by SEO Experts, as it is the easiest schema markup for structured data. Why? Well, while the others have to be written within the HTML file framing the words, this one can be written and uploaded separately and Google will understand that the code refers to the whole page. This way, you avoid editing the HTML tags and potentially messing things up.

You will add the code to the HTML as another tag, but there’s no need to touch the existing code. Told you it was easier. 😉 Google recommends adding JSON-LD to the <head> section of the HTML document; but it’s okay if the JSON-LD is within the <body> section. Just paste it (or ask a developer if you have the chance).

In this case, the code will look like this:

<script type=”application/ld+json”>

{

“@context”: “http://schema.org”,

“@type”: “Movie”,

“actor”: [

{

“@type”: “Person”,

“name”: “Johnny Depp”

},

 

This goes for all three types of encoding: pick the sample code on the schema.org website and replace the sample text with your own data. This way, the validation will be smooth. Remember that FandangoSEO also works as a JSON-LD schema validator, and of course it’s great for RDFa and Microdata too.

 

Schema.org examples

You’ve seen that structured data has a lot of potential. Depending on your business, structured data is the best solution to beat your competitors on the search engines. Sounds cool, right?

Let’s look at some Google structured data examples:

  • You’re running a cooking blog, and your recipe has less calories and takes less time to prepare that your top competitor’s.

See how schema should look, you could even add the video schema markup and link to the video tutorial.

  • You run an e-commerce and want to make your top selling shoes stand out on the SERPs. Add the product’s details but also the average rating based on multiple ratings or reviews.
  • You’re a book author and just wrote an epic guide on how to be an awesome leader. There are many of those out there, but yours is the best. Use schema.org for books to become next Christmas’ best-selling author.
  • You have an app to track flights and want it to be found when people look for arrival times and airport terminals; then you can use the schema software application markup.

 

To sum up, we want you to be conscious of the importance of structured data on SEO and to know how many possibilities schema.org gives you to create rich snippets. Remember these 2 crucial tips:

  • Choose what you want to be displayed wisely, in order to have only the most useful information appearing on the search engine results.
  • Validate before publishing. You don’t want all your efforts to be lost, so go visit our schema tester and stay safe 😉

 

Ready to stick out on the SERPs?

Check Schema now

Arrow-up